Hit by a Texting Driver? Four Facts You Should Know

Hit by a Texting Driver? Four Facts You Should Know

[custom_frame_left][/custom_frame_left]Did you know that driving and texting makes drivers 23 times more likely to be involved in a crash? As texting has grown in popularity over the past decade as a way to communicate, it has also been used more often by drivers, despite its known risk factors. About 35% of teens in an AAA poll said they had texted while driving, even though 94% agreed that it was dangerous. Important Facts To Know About a Texting Driver 1. How Legal is Texting? Not all distractions are clearly banned by law, but currently, 41 states ban text messaging for all drivers. California has the lowest maximum penalty for first time offenders who get caught, at only $20– less than most speeding tickets. On the other hand, Alaska has the power to give you up to a $10,000 fine, and a year in prison. If you get in an accident, of course, you’ll be worried about more than just a ticket. 2. Can I Prove Someone Was Texting While Driving? Typically, it can help your case while dealing with insurance companies to prove negligence on the part of the other driver. It can be difficult at first, though, to determine or prove that a phone was a reason for the accident. This can be a good time to turn to auto accident law firms, since they can access cell phone records that will indicate whether or not the individual was in the process of texting someone at the time of the crash. 3. Are These Cases Unique? Overall, a car accident caused by texting isn’t much different from any other...