Many States Begin Considering Crack Down on Hit-and-Run Drivers

Many States Begin Considering Crack Down on Hit-and-Run Drivers

[custom_frame_left][/custom_frame_left]As USA Today reports, hit-and-run accidents in the United States have shown a disturbing upward trend over the last four years. In that time, deaths from these types of accidents grew by over 13%, and if current estimates hold true, 2014 will show yet another uptick. It’s important to note that most drivers will not flee the scene of an accident. Not only is it a matter of self-preservation and wanting to avoid a tougher court case before auto accident injury attorneys, it’s also the fact that most drivers want to do the right thing. As for the others, well, experts from AAA say that most who flee the scene of the crime were texting or under the influence of alcohol when the crash occurred. In other words, they have something extra to hide. Current Hit-and-Run Laws in the State of Missouri In the State of Missouri, according to DeadlyRoads.com, fleeing the scene of an accident will result in a Class A misdemeanor charge, at minimum. That carries with it punitive fines and potential prison time not to exceed 12 months. Now, if someone was injured or killed, or property damage exceeding $1,000 was caused by the reckless driver who was too irresponsible to stay and be held accountable for their actions, charges go from a Class A misdemeanor to a Class D felony, the latter of which stipulates a prison sentence of no longer than four years. Are these penalties enough? Many don’t think so. New York Leads the Way to Stiffer Penalties In partnership with experienced injury attorneys, many state legislatures are making moves to stiffen the...